After login using Kerberos, Z Icon seems to allow logout/login as a different user

  • 7009755
  • 21-Jun-2012
  • 30-Jul-2012

Environment

Novell ZENworks Configuration Management 10.3 Authentication
Novell ZENworks Configuration Management 11 Authentication
Novell ZENworks Configuration Management 11.1 Authentication
Novell ZENworks Configuration Management 11.2 Authentication

Situation

After logging in to AD domain using Kerberos authentication, the Logout option is present on the ZENworks icon, and appears to allow the user to logout, and then login as a different user. No errors are given, but after a refresh, the bundles, policies etc., are those for the user that logged into Windows, not the user selected in the ZENworks icon.

Resolution

This is fixed in version 11.2.1 - see KB 7010042 "ZENworks Configuration Management 11.2.1 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://support.microfocus.com/kb/doc.php?id=7010042

Cause

The logout option should not be available in the ZENworks icon if the authentication mode is Kerberos, because logins should only be done via the Windows.

Additional Information

This does not present a security risk, because the user that is used to re-login is always the one that logged into Windows via Kerberos, but it does confuse end-users.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.