Upgrading the Migration utility wipes out migration history

  • 7007802
  • 05-Feb-2011
  • 30-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell ZENworks 11 Configuration Management Migration
Novell ZENworks 10 Configuration Management with Support Pack 3 - 10.3 Migration

Situation

When upgrading the migration utility, the previous history is lost.

Resolution

For ZCM 10.3: This is fixed in version 10.3.2 - see KB 7007237 "ZENworks Configuration Management 10.3.2 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support
 
For ZCM 11: This is fixed in version 11.1 - see KB 7008746 "ZENworks Configuration Management 11.1 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support
 
Workaround:
Before upgrading or reinstalling the Migration utility
  1. Rename the migration data folder, e.g., 
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserName_XXXX\Application Data\Novell\ZENworks\Migration to
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserName_XXXX\Application Data\Novell\ZENworks\Migration_backup
  2. Re-install/upgrade the Migration utility
  3. Rename the saved data folder, e.g., 
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserName_XXXX\Application Data\Novell\ZENworks\Migration_backup back to
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserName_XXXX\Application Data\Novell\ZENworks\Migration
  4. Start the utility

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.