Permissions lost when overwriting file

  • 3007459
  • 27-Feb-2007
  • 30-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell ZENworks Desktop Management 7 - ZDM7 Application Launcher (NAL)
Novell ZENworks Desktop Management 6.5 - ZDM6.5 Application Launcher (NAL)

Situation

If a file is locked when NAL tries to overwrite it, it gets put into a pendingfilerename state, and NAL asks for a reboot. After rebooting, the file is overwritten, but only default permissions remain.
If the file is not locked, it is overwritten, and the permissions remain unaltered.

Resolution

For ZDM7: Fixed in ZENworks 7 Desktop Management Service Pack 1 Interim Release 3a, see KB 3484245 "Updates to Novell ZENworks 7 Desktop Management" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support

For ZDM6.5SP2: Fixed in Novell ZENworks 6.5 Desktop Management Support Pack 2 Interim Release 1 - see TID 3665027 "Updates to Novell ZENworks 6.5 Desktop Management" at https://www.novell.com/support