Preserve Source Server's Domain Registration

  • 7920135
  • 22-Nov-2004
  • 26-Apr-2012

Environment

PlateSpin Forge

Situation

Overview

 

This article outlines a new feature, Preserve Source Server’s Domain Registration, when configuring conversion jobs in PowerP2V v3.6.1.

 

Details

 

PowerP2V v3.6.1 and higher now allows the user to select the option "Preserve Source Server’s Domain Registration" when configuring a P2V conversion job.

 

To configure the conversion job and preserve source server’s domain registration:

  1. Launch the PowerP2V Client
  2. Discover the source machine
  3. Discover the target virtual host
  4. In the Server view, drag and drop the source server to the target virtual host. The PlateSpin PowerP2V Conversion should be displayed.
  5. Under Network Configuration, click on “Network Identification”
  6. Check the checkbox “Preserve Source Server’s Domain Registration”



Enabling this checkbox allows the user to do a P2V and ensure that the source machine’s domain registration remains intact. This is the default behaviour, whenever:

  • The target virtual machine needs to go on a different domain;
  • Or the target virtual machine is taken off the domain;
  • Or the target virtual machine’s host name changes while on the domain.
  • Removing this checkbox implies that the target virtual machine is to take on the domain identity of the source. Consequently, any domain changes performed on the target virtual machine will affect the original source machine’s domain registration. This should be done with caution, as your source machine will no longer be properly connected to the domain after the P2V.

During the P2V converion, you may want to perform a variety of configurations on the target virtual machine.  Below you will find the detailed effects that adding or removing the checkbox will have on your P2V:

 

Scenario #1 -- Changing Domains

 

Summary: Source machine (S) is on DOMAIN1; Target VM (T) to be on DOMAIN2.

If the checkbox is enabled: S will be registered on DOMAIN1, and T will be registered on DOMAIN2.

If the checkbox is cleared: S will lose its registration on DOMAIN1, and T will be registered on DOMAIN2.

 

Scenario #2 -- Leaving the Domain

 

Summary: Source machine (S) is on DOMAIN1; Target VM (T) to be part of a workgroup called WORKGROUP.

If the checkbox is enabled: S will remain registered on DOMAIN1, and T will be a member of WORKGROUP.

If the checkbox is cleared: S will lose its registration on DOMAIN1, and T will be a member of WORKGROUP.

 

Scenario #3 -- Renaming a Machine on the Domain

 

Summary: Source machine (S) is on DOMAIN1 with the name MACHINE1; Target VM (T) to be part of DOMAIN1 with the name MACHINE2.

If the checkbox is enabled: S will maintain its registration on DOMAIN1 with the name MACHINE1, T will be on DOMAIN1 with the name MACHINE2.

If the checkbox is cleared: S will no longer be registered on the domain, DOMAIN1, and T will be on DOMAIN1 with the name MACHINE2.

 

As shown in the above scenarios, when the checkbox is cleared, the domain network identity of the source machine is essentially transferred to the target VM, and any changes made on the target VM destroys whatever registration the source machine is expecting to be present. When the source machine loses its registration, it still APPEARS to be on the domain, however, in actual fact, it has no longer any valid connection to the domain, and must be administered via a local account with adminstrative privileges.