Logins to Analysis Center become impossible after a single user deletes all AC users and groups. (NETIQKB70846)

  • 7770846
  • 18-Dec-2007
  • 30-Mar-2011

Environment

NetIQ Analysis Center 2.x

Situation

An Analysis Center user with sufficient permissions can delete all users and groups, thus preventing any subsequent logons to the program.

Resolution

If this happens, you can edit the Web.config file to add Analysis Center users. Those users can then log on, and add groups. The default location of the file is Program Files\NetIQ\Analysis Center\WebService\Web.config.

To edit the file to add users:

  1. Open the file with a text editor.
  2. Under the <appSettings> section near the beginning of the file, find the line:
    <!--<add key="AC Administrators" value="{localcomputer}\{account},{domain}\{account}" />-->
  3. Delete the comment tags:
    <add key="AC Administrators" value="{localcomputer}\{account},{domain}\{account}" />
  4. Set the key value to equal the users you want to add. Use the format <local computer>\<account name> or <domain>\<account name>. For example:
    <add key="AC Administrators" value="company domain\some user" />
  5. Separate multiple users by commas. For example:
    <add key="AC Administrators" value="company domain\user_1,company domain\user_2" />
  6. Save the file.

Any of the users added to the Web.config file can log on to Analysis Center.

Cause

Any user with Administrator rights can remove Administrator privileges for all users including themselves and when this happens the Analysis Center Console cannot be managed by any user.

Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB70846

 


Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.