Why are both the source and target user accounts included as members of the group after I migrate do (NETIQKB45210)

  • 7745210
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 18-Oct-2007

Resolution

goal
Why are both the source and target user accounts included as members of the group after I migrate domain local groups?

fact
Domain Migration Administrator 7.x

symptom
After migrating domain local groups, both target user accounts and source user accounts that have not yet been migrated show up as members of the group.

symptom
I migrated domain local groups, but source user accounts that are not yet migrated appear as members of the target group.

cause
The Update local groups with members that have not been migrated option is selected.

fix

You can remove the source user accounts from the migrated group. The process differs slightly for migration projects and individual tasks.

If you are working within a project:

  1. In the Specify Migration Settings wizard, select the Replace and update conflicting accounts option and the sub-option Remove existing members of groups being replaced.
  2. Choose the following options when you run the Migrate Groups wizard:
  • Use migration settings defined in the Migration Settings Wizard.
  • On the Group Options page, click Advanced, and then click Custom level.
  • Clear the Update local groups with members that have not been migrated checkbox.
  • Click OK twice and complete the wizard. 

If you are using the Migrate Groups individual task (not within a project), or if you are not using the Specify Migration Settings wizard within a project:

    1. On the Group Options page, click Advanced, and then click Custom level.
    2. Clear the Update local groups with members that have not been migrated checkbox.
    3. Click OK twice and complete the wizard 


note
Warning: Using the Remove existing members of groups being replaced option removes ANY account in the target group, even accounts not added by DMA.

note

The Show previously migrated objects in project migration wizards option is disabled by default to help Adminstrators determine which accounts have not been migrated.

To enable this option:

  1. Select the Domain Migration Administrator folder in the left pane of the DMA console.
  2. Right-click the folder, and then click View> DMA Options.
  3. Check the Show previously migrated objects in project migration wizards checkbox.

For more information, see the following KB article:

Previously migrated objects do not appear in the object selection screen of a project wizard.

https://www.netiq.com/kb/esupport/consumer/esupport.asp?id=NETIQKB4295 



Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB45210

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.