How does DMA handle the undo function? (NETIQKB43854)

  • 7743854
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 11-Jan-2008

Resolution

goal
How does DMA handle the "undo" function?

goal
How do I configure settings for the "undo" function?

goal
Is there a limit to the number of tasks the product can undo?

goal
Are there any tasks the product cannot undo?

fact
Domain Migration Administrator 7.x

fix

Before you run any migration tasks, check the value of the Undo task limit field on the Domain Migration Administrator (DMA) Advanced Settings window. The Undo task limit field specifies how many tasks DMA saves. These tasks can be saved only if the task history is saved in the DMA database.

Notes

·         DMA saves each task you perform, including some tasks that cannot be undone, such as selecting objects and generating reports. Ensure you set the Undo task limit field to a large enough value to save the important migration tasks that you may need to undo.

·         To preserve all migrated objects, replicate all domain controllers in the target domain before you undo a migration task.

·         When you undo an intraforest migration, the accounts are returned to the source domain. Since an intraforest migration is a move operation instead of a copy operation, all changes made to the target accounts, including any modeling changes, are retained and cannot be undone. SID History values are also retained and stored in the database.

If you perform more tasks in a single project than the specified undo limit, the oldest task is deleted from the database. This process helps prevent the database from growing excessively large. However, to ensure you can undo tasks as needed, set the Undo task limit field to as large a value as possible in your environment.

You can use the undo function to restore most of the tasks you perform with DMA. However, because of limitations of the operating system or the tasks DMA performs during migration, certain tasks cannot be undone. DMA cannot undo the following tasks:

·    Exchange security translation

·    Roaming profile security translation

·    Replace mode migration tasks

·    Service Account migration changes in the Service Configuration Manager (SCM)

·    Active Directory Connector Accounts wizard tasks

To provide additional safety, periodically back up your databases to maintain a complete record of the tasks you performed. These backup copies can help you undo problematic changes. However, ensure Domain Migration Administrator is not running when you back up the databases, otherwise those databases will not be usable.

note
This information is also available in the User Guide for Domain Migration Administrator and Server Consolidator.

Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB43854

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.