What will get applied if I rollback to a previous version of a Group Policy and the setting of the backup is 'Not Configured'?
NetIQ Group Policy Administrator 4.x
NetIQ Group Policy Administrator 5.0
If there is a setting of a Group Policy Object (GPO) set to Enabled, and then it is exported to Active Directory, it will get applied to the client machine. If you then roll back to a previous version of the GPO in the Repository where that setting was set to Not Configured, the Enabled setting will get removed from the client machine.
There is a well known issue called tattooing, where a setting is not removed from the Registry of the client machine. For all standard GPO settings tattooing is not an issue. However, you can configure other areas of the registry to be set using custom templates and other methods. In these cases, the setting may not roll back and will tattoo the registry of the client machine, even if you roll back to a previous version of the GPO.