What does the post migration wizard 'Update Target Mailbox Permissions' do? (NETIQKB40896)

  • 7740896
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 03-Feb-2008

Resolution

goal
What does the post migration wizard 'Update Target Mailbox Permissions' do?

goal
When should I use the 'Update Target Mailbox Permissions' wizard?

goal
How do I update mailbox permissions after decommissioning a source server?

fact
Exchange Migrator 2.3

fix

During migrations from complex source environments that include multiple source Microsoft Exchange 5.5 servers, the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard allows you to decommission source servers as you migrate them.  You do not need to maintain your source environment until you complete your migration.

After decommissioning source Exchange 5.5 servers, you can use the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard to update the migrated mailboxes.  You can use this wizard after migrating and decommissioning each server, or wait until you have a number of servers decommissioned before using the wizard.

To update mailbox permissions after decommissioning a source server:

  1. Migrate your mailbox data as appropriate.  For more information, see Identify Your Migration Scenario on page 9 of the Exchange Migrator User Guide .
  2. In the left pane, select the project containing the object from the decommissioned source server.
  3. In the right pane, click Update Target Mailbox Permissions.
  4. Complete the wizard.


note
An example where you might need to use the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard follows: 

You have three sites: siteA, siteB, and siteC.  MailboxA in siteA is migrated and has delegates in siteB (MailboxB) and siteC (MailboxC).  siteA gets decommissioned before the delegates in siteB and siteC are migrated.  In this case, since siteA was decommissioned and, therefore, you would not be able to run the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard for siteA, you could run Update Target Mailbox Permissions in the siteA project for MailboxA once the delegates in siteB and siteC were migrated so that the target MailboxA maintains the delegate's access.  If source sites will not be decommissioned before the migration is complete, then the Synchronize and Update Migrated Mailboxes wizard can be used and, therefore, the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard should not have to be used.
 


note
The Synchronize and Update Migrated Mailboxes wizard can copy permissions and migrate messages that were not included in the original migration, as opposed to the Update Target Mailbox Permissions wizard which is designed to only update mailbox permissions and should be used if the source site must be decommissioned before the delegates which have permission to this mailbox can be migrated and synchronized.
 
For more information on Synchronize and Update Migrated Mailboxes, please review the following NetIQ Knowledge Base Article: 
NETIQKB1365 - What does the post migration wizard 'Synchronize and Update Migrated Mailboxes' do, and when should I use it?


note
Please note that this information can also be obtained from Chapter 6 of the Exchange Migrator User Guide .

Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB40896

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.