What will happen if I set the Propagate (synchronize) profile changes by UPM: to "Y" on the 'User Profile Management Default Values' screen?
VigilEnt Security Agent for iSeries 7.5
VigilEnt Security Agent for PSSecure 7.5
VigilEnt Security Agent for iSeries 5.4/7.0
VigilEnt Security Agent for iSeries PSSecure 7.0
Profile and Password Management (PPM)
This will allow the "source" machine to determine which profiles will be disabled and/or archived and subsequently deleted on any "target" machines set up to synchronize via PPM.
In the following example, the "target" machine has been configured in PPM to "Accept Profile Changes" AND has UPM Default Value 'Archive user profiles deleted outside of PSSECURE' set to "Y".
- The UPM job has been scheduled to run each Sunday at 2:00 AM.
- When the job runs, a profile is found that meets the criteria previously established in PPM to be disabled (90 days for example) - it will be disabled on the "source" machine as well as on the "target" machine.
- Another profile that was previously disabled, is found to meet the previously established criteria for PPM to delete it - it will be archived and deleted on the source machine as well as on the "target" machine.
NOTE: Be aware that the "source" machine is deciding which profile to disable/archive/delete. If there is a chance that profiles might be used more frequently on the "target" machine, this may not be an appropriate setup for your environment.