When modifying task permissions for a user in VigilEnt Security Manager the original permissions ass (NETIQKB31902)

  • 7731902
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 08-Sep-2008

Resolution

fact
VigilEnt Security Manager 3.0

symptom
When modifying task permissions for a user in VigilEnt Security Manager the original permissions assignments are duplicated rather than removed.

cause

This is a result of how permissions are applied within VigilEnt Security Manager (VSM).  If existing task rights which have been assigned to a VigilEnt Role are modified (ie, the check boxes are cleared), then applied, VSM duplicates the original assignment instead of removing it.

NOTE:  This does not apply to rights assignments against Users only Roles.



fix

This issue is resolved with VSM 3.0 SR-1.

The workaround for this problem is to uncheck the task itself, apply the changes, then re-select the task and re-apply the server and server group settings. Unchecking the task clears out all existing ACE entries for the task which will resolve the problem even if the user has already duplicated some permissions.



Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB31902

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.