How do I purge audit trail data in VigilEnt Audit Manager for Sybase? (NETIQKB26231)

  • 7726231
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 08-Sep-2008

Resolution

goal
How do I purge audit trail data in VigilEnt Audit Manager for Sybase?

fact
VigilEnt Audit Manager for Sybase 1.0

fact
VigilEnt Audit Manager for Sybase 1.0 SR2

fact
VigilEnt Audit Manager for Sybase 1.0 SP3

fix

There are two methods for purging audit trail data:

  • Single Transaction
  • Multiple Transaction


Single Transaction Method

The single transaction method submits a single delete statement to the database along with the filter. This is the fastest method for deleting audit trail data.

Note: There are two important characteristics about the single transaction method. The first is that it is non-interruptible. The second is that you must have a rollback segment large enough to hold the entire set of deleted data.

To Purge Data using the Single Transaction Method:

  1. Click the Purge Audit Data tab. You are moved to the Purge Audit Data window.
  2. Optional. Click the Filter icon if you wish to make any adjustments to the filters.
  3. Click the Refresh icon to make sure your audit data is up to date.
  4. Click the radio button to the left of Purge using single transaction.
  5. Click Start Purge. A dialog box appears and asks you to confirm.
  6. Click Yes. A confirmation dialog box appears when the purge is finished.
  7. Click OK. Your audit data is purged.


Multiple Transaction Method

The multiple transaction method lets you delete one audit row at a time. Due to the fact that individual deletes are executed and committed one at a time, the rollback segment only needs to be large enough to hold a single audit row.

To Purge Data using the Multiple Transaction Method:

  1. Click the Purge Audit Data tab. You are moved to the Purge Audit Data window.
  2. Optional. Click the Filter icon if you wish to make any adjustments to the filters.
  3. Click the Refresh icon to make sure your audit data is up to date.
  4. Click the radio button to the left of Purge using multiple transactions.
  5. Click Start Purge. A dialog box appears and asks you to confirm.
  6. Click Yes. A confirmation dialog box appears when the purge is finished.
  7. Click OK. Your audit data is purged.


Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB26231

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.