Error: 'The computer contains shared resources. To delete this account, first remove the shared res (NETIQKB25586)

  • 7725586
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 19-Jun-2007

Resolution

fact
Directory and Resource Administrator 6.60

symptom
Error: 'The computer contains shared resources.  To delete this account, first remove the shared resources.' When Removing a Computer Account From a Managed Domain

symptom

When deleting a computer account from a managed domain using Directory and Resource Administrator, the following error message may occur:

  • There was an error deleting the computer_account_name object.  The computer contains shared resources.  To delete this account, first remove the shared resources.


cause
This issue occurs if the computer being removed has a shared printer attached to it.  By default, the List in the Directory option is selected when sharing a printer in an Active Directory environment, which, essentially, creates an associated Active Directory object.  In this case, DRA considers the computer account a container and thus will not delete it as it is not empty.

fix

Directory and Resource Administrator version 7.0 behavior has been modified.  In version 7.0 and later Assistant Admins will be able to delete computer accounts that have shared resources published in Active Directory.  When attempting to delete computer accounts that have objects published in Active Directory a warning message will be displayed and the Assistant Admin will be prompted to confirm the deletion of the computer account. 

To resolve this issue in version 6.60 and earlier, please perform the following steps:

  1. Launch the MMC interface as a user with, at least,  the power to manage printers on the computer to be removed.
  2. Expand My ActiveViews|All my managed objects and select Computer views.
  3. Enumerate the list of computers and select the account with the shared printer.
  4. Click the Manage button and, with the Printers option selected, click OK.
  5. Select a shared printer and click Properties.
  6. Clear the Shared checkbox and click OK.
  7. Repeat Steps 5 and 6 for all other shared printers on this computer.

When the steps above are complete, the computer account will now be seen as an empty container by DRA and can be removed successfully from the domain.



Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB25586

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.