How do I prevent Domain Migration Administrator from overwriting a password on an existing user?
Domain Migration Administrator 6.x
Domain Migration Administrator 7.x
Passwords are changed (overwritten) on user accounts that already exist in the target domain.
Passwords are overwritten when migrating accounts in 'Replace and Update' mode.
To prevent Domain Migration Administrator (DMA) from overwriting a password on an existing user, select the 'Naming Conflicts' option to Ignore conflicting accounts and don't migrate.Â However, if you are performing a user migration to update the properties of a user thatÂ already exists in the target domain, then you will want to use the 'Naming Conflicts' option Replace and Update conflictingÂ accounts.
When Replace and Update conflicting accounts is selected, properties of existing accounts in the target domain are changed to match the properties of the account with the same name in the source domain. (Note:Â If the source and target domains are in the sameÂ forest, this option is not available.)Â The password is one of the properties that is changed.
To prevent DMA from overwriting the password when migrating in Replace and Update mode, use the following unsupported workaround:
Warning: Using the Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. NetIQ cannot guarantee that problems resulting from the incorrect use of Registry Editor can be solved. Make sure that you backup your Registry prior to making any changes.
Note:Â This workaround has not been fully-regression tested in all environments;Â you should test this workaround in your lab environmentbefore attempting it in production.
- Rename the following registry key by adding a '1' or some other character.Â (This will prevent DMA from finding the key.)
- For DMA versions prior to 7.0:
- For DMA versions 7.0 or later:
Performing these two steps will "trick" DMA into attempting to create a complex password for an account, but it will not be able to since the registry key has been renamed.Â
If you have modified this registry key, DMA will not create a complex password for any migrated users, whether or not the targetÂ user account already exists.Â If the target account does not exist, and you migrate selecting the Complex Passwords option, theÂ new account will have a blank password.Â If you find that you need DMA to create complex passwords for future migrations, simply return the key name to its originalÂ state.