What is the best practice for performing an undo in an Exchange 5.5 to Exchange 2000 migration? (NETIQKB7637)

  • 7707637
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 16-Aug-2007

Resolution

goal
What is the best practice for performing an undo in an Exchange 5.5 to Exchange 2000 migration?

fact
Exchange Migrator 1.x

fact
Exchange Migrator 2.x

fix

Since Exchange Migrator (EM) does not delete the target mailbox in a Microsoft Exchange 5.5 to Microsoft Exchange 2000 migration, it is possible to undo the migration. For information on how to delete the target mailbox please see NetIQ KB article:

  • NETIQKB4925 : Why is the target mailbox not deleted during an undo within a Microsoft Exchange 5.5 to Microsoft Exchange 2000 migration?

To undo an Exchange 5.5 to Exchange 2000 migration:

  1. Use the Undo Mail Object Migration wizard in Exchange Migrator.
  2. Check to be sure that the source mailbox was unhidden.
    • Please note that the source mailbox will be unhidden only if you chose the Hide souce mailboxes for the source global address list option in the Specify Migration Options wizard for the mailbox migration.  Otherwise it will remain hidden.
  3. Check to be sure that the source Custom Recipient (CR) that was previously created by EM during the mailbox migration has been deleted.
    • Please note that the CR referenced in the statement above will only be there if you chose the Create Custom Recipients in source when migrating objects option in the Specify Migration Options wizard for the mailbox migration.
    • Please note that the CR will only be deleted if you chose the Delete source custom recipients when undoing a migration for the mailbox migration.
  4. Check to be sure that the license was rolled back correctly.  In other words, did you get the license count back?
  5. Manually delete the target mailbox with the Exchange Task wizard provided in Active Directory Users & Computers.
    • NOTE:  Do NOT delete the Windows 2000 Active Directory (AD) account.  If you do, then all NTFS permission that were assigned for this particular account SID will be lost.
    • Since you are not deleting the target AD account you will need to use the merge options that are available in the Specify Migration Options wizard when you remigrate the mailboxes.
  6. Give the AD time to replicate the latest information throughout your environment.  The amount of time needed depends upon your network topology and replication schedules that you may have.
  7. You are now ready to remigrate mailboxes by merging on SAMAccountName or SIDHistory.


Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB7637

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.