Is it possible to prevent Directory and Resource Administrator from copying the contents of a user's (NETIQKB7040)

  • 7707040
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 19-Jun-2007

Resolution

goal
Is it possible to prevent Directory and Resource Administrator from copying the contents of a user's old home directory to the new home directory when the user account is renamed?

fact
Directory and Resource Administrator 6.50

fact
Directory and Resource Administrator 6.6

fact
Directory and Resource Administrator 7.x

fix

Directory and Resource Administrator version 6.50 and later can be configured so that, when a user account is renamed, the content of the user's home directory is not copied from the old location to the new home directory.  If the Rename home directory when user account is renamed option is selected under Policy and automation management|Home Directory policies in the DRA MMC, renaming a user account will create a new home directory with the new account name and move the contents of the old home directory to the new one.  In some cases this may not be the desired result, as it may impact network performance.

To disable this option, please perform the following steps on the primary Directory and Resource Administrator server:

  1. Launch Regedt32.
  2. Select the $HomeDirRename key under HKEY_Local_Machine\Software\Mission Critical Software\OnePoint\Administration\Data\Modules\Policy\Trigger.
  3. Select the Add Value option from the Edit menu.
  4. Enter DontCopyOnHDChange in the Value Name: field and click OK.
  5. Enter True in the String field and click OK.


note
The $HomeDirRename key will only be available if Home Directory Policies is turned on in the MMC interface under Policy and automation management.

Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB7040

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.