How can a user's home directory retain it's NTFS permissions when the user is deleted in Directory and Resource Administrator?
Directory and Resource Administrator 6.40
To retain NTFS permissions on a user's home directory when that user is deleted, perform the followings steps within the DRA MMC while logged in as an Assistant Admin with, at minimum, the Built-in Policy role:
- Expand the Policy and automation management snap-in node and select Home Directory policies.
- In the right hand pane, click the Home Directory automation and rules icon. This opens the Home Share/Directory Properties window.
- Clear the check box for Delete home directory when user account is deleted.
If the check box for Delete home directory when user account is deleted is cleared, a user's home directory will remain after the account itself is deleted. Also, The home share will remain intact as well as the existing NTFS permissions on the directory. When viewing the NTFS permissions for the folder, the ACL will display an unknown SID in place of the account that has been deleted.