What is the logic of the option to 'Force Configuration Changes Now'? (NETIQKB2044)

  • 7702044
  • 02-Feb-2007
  • 08-Sep-2008

Resolution

goal
What is the logic of the option to 'Force Configuration Changes Now'?

fact
Operations Manager 3.X

fact
Security Manager 3.X

fact
Security Manager 4.X

fact
Security Manager 5.X

fix

Note: The term consolidator applies to Security Manager version 4.x or earlier.  Security Manager versions 5.0 and later use the term, central computer.

Each Consolidator/central computer maintains its own in-memory cache of all configurations. When you force an update, the Consolidator or central computer reloads the entire cached configuration.

Each database table contains last modified information. There is a DAS call that returns the maximum last modified time for all configuration-related tables. If the Consolidator or central computer determines that anything has changed relative to the last modified time of the cache, it reloads the configuration information from all related tables.

Last modified times do not propagate in the database. Each time the Consolidator or central computer reloads its cache, it compares the new configuration to its old configuration to detect when a rule group has been deleted, a computer group to rule group link has been deleted, etc., and artificially adjusts the times of the changed groups. It stores a local copy of its cache so it can safely detect changes across a service restart.

The Consolidator or central computer always loads its entire configuration. It then sends everything for each agent where something pertaining to that agent has changed, and nothing to the agents where nothing has changed. The Consolidator or central computer never does a partial load or a partial send of its configuration.



Additional Information

Formerly known as NETIQKB2044

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.