Custom fields deleted if edited

  • 7024142
  • 26-Sep-2019
  • 26-Sep-2019

Environment

ZENworks Service Desk 8.1 Item Configuration
ZENworks Service Desk 8.1 Service Configuration

Situation

Editing a custom field on Configuration Items or Tickets resets some or all custom fields on that object to default or blank when the object is saved.

Resolution

Contact Technical Support for a patch for 8.1.

Future versions of Service Desk will ship with this fix in place.

Cause

If the field is set to "Customer Visible: No" then, on saving the item, the field value is getting reset to the default value. 

With the fix in place, if the value for such a field is not defined by the user (i.e. is null) only then will it be set to the default value.

Status

Reported to Engineering

Additional Information

Steps to recreate
  • Log in as a Technician
  • Go to any object (Service Request, Incident, Problem) that uses custom fields
  • Note that the Details section is populated with custom data
  • Edit one of the custom fields
  • Save... 
  • Note that the custom data has now been removed or returned to its default value
  • Navigating away and returning to this item shows the data is still missing or, in the case of drop-downs, returned to default
  • This happens on Items, Service Requests, Problems, Incidents, etc

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.