Filr Desktop client shows Net Folders even if option to allow synchronization is disabled

  • 7020162
  • 03-Jun-2017
  • 21-Jun-2018

Environment

Micro Focus Filr 3.3
Micro Focus Filr 3.3 Desktop client

Situation

In Filr versions 3.0 and 3.1, Filr Desktop client users are able to browse and access files in Net Folders where the administrator has disabled the option to 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application'. If this option is disabled on a Net Folder, users should NOT be able to see the Net Folder via the Filr Desktop client. Users should only be able to access these Net Folders using the Filr Web interface and mobile apps.

Resolution

A preliminary fix for this issue was introduced in the Filr 3.2 Update. With the 3.2 fix in place, if the administrator had disabled the option to 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application', users were NOT able to see the Net Folder via the Filr Desktop client. However, based on customer feedback, the preliminary fix has been extended in the Filr 3.4 Update to provide more granular control over the Net Folder visibility via the Desktop client. While full details are available in the Filr 3.4 Release Notes and Net Folder Administration Guide, below is a summary of the new controls:
  • When a Net Folder is enabled for 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application'; two additional synchronization options will be provided:
    1. Online Only mode: In this mode, the Net Folder is visible to the Desktop client user but user will not be able to trigger massive downloads by using the 'Make available offline' option.
    2. Online & Offline mode: In this mode, the Net Folder is visible to the Desktop client user and the user will be able to trigger massive downloads by using the 'Make available offline' option.

  • When a Net Folder is disabled for 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application'; the Net Folder will NOT be visible to the Desktop client user.

  • Important: All existing Net Folders with the 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application' setting disabled; will be enabled and set to 'Online-only mode' automatically after the Filr 3.4 Update.
    If you do not wish to expose a Net Folder via the Desktop client, you must re-configure the Net Folder and disable the 'Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application' setting.

  • All new Net Folders will default to Enabled and set to 'Online & Offline mode'.

Additional Information

End users must update their Desktop client to version 3.4 for the additional synchronization modes to be usable. Older Desktop clients will allow access to a Net Folder in Online & Offline mode if the Net Folder is enabled for Allow synchronization of data by: Desktop application'.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.