Does A Restored Message Show Up Twice In Retain

  • 7019404
  • 07-Aug-2015
  • 01-Sep-2017

Environment

Retain 3.x

Situation

If I restore a deleted message back to my email system, will it show up as a different message in Retain after another archive dredge?

Resolution

Yes, the restored message will show up in Retain again. This is because the email system will see it as a new message and give it new header information. So when you run another archive job Retain will see it as a different message from the original.


However, there will still only be one copy of the message body and attachments because Retain uses single instance storage.

Additional Information

This article was originally published in the GWAVA knowledgebase as article ID 2595.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.