How to change the disk space warning and error thresholds

  • 7019236
  • 22-Jun-2016
  • 07-Aug-2017

Environment


Retain 4.0.3 +

Situation


I keep getting email warnings about available disk space on my Retain server; however, when I check the disk space, the storage directories have much more than the default available disk space threshold that causes this warning.   Why is this warning occurring and is there any way to configure the thresholds?

Resolution


Some customers using Retain 3 and earlier would run out of disk space either in their storage directories or on the system drive where the Retain logs were being written to and sometimes this would corrupt their data.  To avoid this potential disaster, Retain 4 contains some default permissible disk thresholds (see Install | System Requirements in the online documentation for more information).

In Retain 4, 4.0.1, and 4.0.2, the default thresholds were to warn at 20 GB and error at 10 GB (error conditions cause Retain to go into maintenance mode, which does not allow logins nor for archive jobs to run).  Those values have been decreased starting with 4.0.3 to 10 and 5 GB respectively.

In some cases, customers will get the warnings or their Retain systems will go into maintenance mode when available disk space on the system volume goes below the threshold allowed; however, upon further investigation, it was discovered that the Retain logs were not getting stored on the system volume.  

Another valid reason for changing the thresholds temporarily would be to bypass the maintenance mode so that you can run a deletion job to free up space; then, you can reset the values back to their defaults.

In such cases, the disk warning threshold can be *lowered:

1.  Edit ../RetainServer/WEB-INF/classes/config/misc.properties.

2.  Search for discspace.warn.gb and you'll find two settings:

discspace.warn.gb=10
diskspace.error.gb=5

3.  Change the settings as desired.  The "warn" setting is when the email notification gets sent when exceeded.  The "error" setting is when Retain goes into maintenance mode and does not allow logins or jobs to run.

4.  Restart tomcat.

*You should be very careful when changing these to lower values.  It is generally not recommended to do so.

Additional Information

This article was originally published in the GWAVA knowledgebase as article ID 2816.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.