How do I transfer the Log Archive Data from one DRA server to another?

  • 7015304
  • 01-Jul-2014
  • 27-Jan-2015

Environment

NetIQ Directory & Resource Administrator 8.6.x
NetIQ Directory & Resource Administrator 8.7.x

Situation

NetIQ Directory Resource Administrator (DRA) stores DRA Activity Audit information within a local NetIQ DRA Log Archive Server (LAS). This information is stored locally on each DRA Server and can be queried from within the DRA Account and Resource Management Console.

Resolution

Before copying over the LAS data from one DRA Server to another, it's important to verify the LAS Volume storage location. This information is viewable from the Log Archive Configuration Utility (Start -- All Programs -- NetIQ Security Manager -- Configuration -- Log Archive Configuration Utility). Once in the LAS Configuration Utility verify the Volume path. In most cases the LAS Volume will be under the DRA Program Files\NetIQLogArchive Data (For DRA 8.6.x and DRA 8.7.x upgrades) or ProgramData\NetIQ\NetIQLogArchiveData (For Clean DRA 8.7.x).  If the DRA Log Archive Service is still running, stop it before copying the data. Copy all folders from the source to a NEW folder on the target DRA Server.

Once the data has been copied over, use the LAS Configuration Utility to attach an additional volume. You will need to give the new volume a new unique case sensitive name.  It is OK to accept the defaults for total volume size. After adding the new volume ensure that a check box is placed in the Read-Only column next to the volume name. Verify that the original LAS volume does NOT have a check box in the read-only column. Once you close the utility, it will prompt to restart the LAS Service.

Cause

If a DRA server is decommissioned, there might be a need to save its LAS data for auditing. The DRA Log Archive Resource Kit provides a way to merge this data into an existing DRA Server's LAS.

Additional Information

When copying Folders to a new server the File and Folder Compression settings from the source will NOT copy over to the target. The LAS will compress each partition (folder within the LAS Volume) at the end of the day. When viewing the total folder size from within Windows Explorer the size on disk will represent the compressed size, and total size will represent the uncompressed size. After copying the data to the target, it might be necessary to re-enable Windows File and Folder Compression on the new folder.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.