User profile is erroneously saved if "Login With Non-Novell Credential Provider" is enabled

  • 7014285
  • 12-Dec-2013
  • 20-Dec-2013

Environment

Novell Client 2 SP3 for Windows (IR4)
Windows 7
Windows 8
Windows 2008 R2
Windows 2012

Situation

After setting the the following Novell Client configuration before the first login with the Novell Client happens (e.g. using a NovellClientPropertiesFile (unattend txt) created with NCIman.exe),:

Novell Client for Windows Properties > Advanced Login tab
   "Login With Non Novell Credential Provider" = On
   "Novell Login" = Off
Novell Client for Windows Properties > Service Location tab
   Service Location (Directory Agent) is configured
Novell Client for Windows Properties > System Login Profiles > Default Profile > Properties
"Save profile after successful login" = unchecked (off)
Tree, Context, and Server fields are populated

The first login to the default tree is successful. However, if the user subsequently logs into a second tree, context and server, the information relative to the second tree will be saved in the Default profile, and future logins by the user will be to the second tree.

Resolution

Fixed in Novell Client 2 SP3 for Windows (IR5).

Cause

The Novell Client was specifying the default profile name as "Default" instead of "<Default>" in the first-time logon case where a user-specific "Last Used" profile name had not yet been saved. Because the Client mistakenly used the profile name "Default", it created and saved a user-specific profile named "Default".

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.