Folders and data that have been moved in "My files" using the Filr desktop client disappears.

  • 7013027
  • 09-Aug-2013
  • 09-Aug-2013

Environment

Novell Filr 1.0
Novell Filr 1.0 Desktop client for Windows.

Situation

On a windows workstation, with the Novell Filr 1.0 or Novell Filr 1.0 FTF client installed, and configured sync "My files" to moving a sub-folder from a sub-folder one level up, to "My Files" then deleting the original sub-folder can cause data loss.

As a For instance:
When My Folder\All Data\My Data is moved one level up to My Folder\My Data, and then My Folder\All Data is deleted, all sub-folders of My Folder\My Data\ can disappear after a client synchronization.

Resolution

This has been reported to engineering and should be addressed in a forthcoming release of Novell Filr.

However, the files could still be located in one of these directory structures on the Filr Appliance:
For a small or large Filr deployment:
/vastorage/filr/filerepository/
/vastorage/filr/archivestore/
/vastorage/filr/cachefilestore/


For a Filr Cluster deployment:
/vashare/filr/filerepository/
/vashare/filr/archivstore/
/vashare/filr/cachefilestore/


Be aware that there is no directory structure here as it was on the client, it may require extensive searching on the file system.

Status

Reported to Engineering

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.