Moving a user sometimes creates a second, empty personal address book

  • 7007676
  • 26-Jan-2011
  • 26-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell GroupWise 8
Novell GroupWise 7

Situation

When moving a user from one domain to another, on occasion the user's original personal address book will show up renamed as "username[1]" with the original content, while a new address book called "username" is created but empty. If the user has synchronization of address book entries enabled from GroupWise to a mobile device the empty address book will be used and the mobile device will lose all of the original contacts on the device.

Resolution

Before starting the move of selected users, disable each user's ability to log in. To do this, follow these steps:
  1. In ConsoleOne, click on the GroupWise object and then select "Users" from the pull down menu.
  2. Select a user who is about to be moved.
  3. Right click on the user and choose "Properties...".
  4. On the GroupWise tab, select the "Account" pulldown.
  5. Click on the "Disable Logins" check box.
  6. Repeat this process for the other users being moved.
  7. Move the users.
  8. Repeat steps 1 through 6; in step 5 uncheck the "Disable Logins" check box to allow the users to log in.

Additional Information

Root Cause:
When a user move is initiated from ConsoleOne, the user's account is first moved to the post office on the new domain, and then the user's content, including his address books, are moved over. If the user logs in between the time the move is initiated and the time the address book has been moved, the  user will be logged into the new domain and new post office but will not yet have a personal address book there. The act of logging into a post office when one does not have a personal address book causes GroupWise to create a new empty address book in the user's name.

Later, when the move attempts to copy the address book called username to the new post office, it notices that there is a name conflict -- that the address book already exists. To resolve this conflict, the move process creates a second address book, called username[1] and then copies the contents of address book username from the old post office to username[1] in the new post office.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.