ZCM Error -34 running zac reg -g command or the zac rereg command to register an agent

  • 7007557
  • 12-Jan-2011
  • 07-Aug-2013

Environment

Novell ZENworks 10 Configuration Management with Support Pack 3 - 10.3 Installation - Agent
Novell ZENworks 11 Configuration Management Support Pack 1 - ZCM 11 SP1 Installation - Agent

Situation

Running scripts using the zac reg -g command or the zac rereg to attempt a workstation registration results in "Error -34".

Resolution

For ZCM 10: This is fixed in version 10.3.4 - see KB 7008244 "ZENworks Configuration Management 10.3.4 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support

For ZCM 11: This is fixed in version 11.2 - see KB 7010044 "ZENworks Configuration Management 11.2 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support
 
For ZCM 11.x devices, use zac retr to re-trust the certificate and sync up the agent to the database.

Additional Information

If the "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Novell\Workstation Manager\Identification\Workstation ID" key is found during the install of the ZAA, then that value is placed in the guid.txt file and will be used at initial registration. This means that on any workstation(s) that has a guid.txt file, had the Workstation ID key at the time of ZAA install.

With older versions of ZCM, there was a potential problem with having a guid.txt file. ZENworks would only want to use the contents of the guid.txt file upon the initial install of the agent. To work around this, a flag was created by writing a value to the local ZENworks cache to indicate that the guid.txt value had already used, so don't use it again. 

Important Note: If the local ZENworks cache is cleared out and, if the machine is rebooted after the cache is cleared and the guid.txt file exists, the GUID will again be read from the guid.txt file. This is normally not a problem since the GUID is usually not changed. However, if the zac reg -g command or the zac rereg command has been used to generate a new GUID value, the new GUID will be overwritten with the original GUID from guid.txt once the device reboots after the cache has been cleared.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.