Activating ZCM 10.3.x displays warning about uninstalling previous versions of ZENworks

  • 7006985
  • 04-Oct-2010
  • 30-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell ZENworks 10 Configuration Management with Support Pack 3 - 10.3 ZENworks Control Center - ZCC

Situation

Activating ZCM 10.3.x (adding License key) after installation
 
"Activating ZENworks Configuration Management (ZCM) in a zone will uninstall the traditional ZENworks Desktop Management (ZDM or ZFD version 4.x to 7.x) agents on the client devices. Are you sure you want to continue? "

Resolution

This is fixed in version 10.3.2 - see KB 7007237 "ZENworks Configuration Management 10.3.2 - update information and list of fixes" which can be found at https://www.novell.com/support 
 
In 10.3.2, the message now reads:
Activating ZENworks 10 Configuration Management (ZCM) in a zone will uninstall the traditional ZENworks Desktop Management (ZDM or ZFD version 4.x to 7.x) agents on the client devices if the ZENworks Configuration Management (ZCM 10) agents are also installed on the same device. Are you sure you want to continue?.

Additional Information

The intention of the message is to warn about possible effects for devices which have both the ZCM 10.3.x agent and the ZDM 7/ZfD 4 agent as shown in the documentation at "Coexisting with the ZENworks Desktop Management Agent" in "Deploying the ZENworks Adaptive Agent" in the "ZENworks 10 Configuration Management Discovery, Deployment, and Retirement Reference" at https://www.novell.com/documentation/zcm10/index.html

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.