Do not display the last user who was logged in on the workstation

  • 7006168
  • 01-Jun-2010
  • 26-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell Client for Windows Vista
Novell Client 2 for Windows Vista/2008
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows Vista
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows Server 2008
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows 7
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows Server 2008 R2

Situation

To improve computer security, it is desired that the username of the last user who logged in on a workstation not be displayed when the login user interface is displayed for the next user. However, by default, the last username is always being displayed, even though the "Save profile after successful login" setting in the login profile is unchecked.

Resolution

It is expected in the Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows, that the last username will be remembered and presented unless the Windows "DontDisplayLastUserName" policy is explicitly set. This policy can be set using gpedit.msc or secpol.msc. The policy name is "Interactive logon: Do not display last user name" and is disabled by default. The registry location that controls this setting is HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Policies\System\DontDisplayLastUserName. Set the REG_DWORD value = 1.

Additional Information

On Windows 5.x there was only "system login profiles" (to use Windows 7 terminology), and therefore whether the username was or was not saved as part of the profile affected whether the Novell login UI displayed a username.

On the Windows 6.x Novell Client, there are "user login profiles" in addition to "system login profiles", so which login profile is even being displayed can only be determined after the username is known.  This means the username being part or not part of the profile is something only known /after/ a username is specified, since which login profiles are in effect is only known after a username is specified.

The Windows 6.x Novell Client is remembering "last user" and "last profile" used completely outside of the data stored within the profile itself.  The "DontDisplayLastUserName" policy will be honored for any configuration where previous user knowledge is not desired.
 
With the Windows 5.x client, not saving the username within the login profile was essentially the same as setting the "DontDisplayLastUserName" policy, so either approach worked on Windows 5.x.  As a result of the change in the Novell Client login profile design on Windows 6.x, only the "DontDisplayLastUserName" policy can achieve this same result in the Windows 7 client.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.