When moving a user in GroupWise the trash is does not move

  • 7005451
  • 08-Mar-2010
  • 27-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell GroupWise 6
Novell GroupWise 6.5
Novell GroupWise 7

Situation

When moving a user in GroupWise the Trash is deleted.
Trash does not move with the user.
When moving a user in GroupWise the trash does not move.

Resolution

Trash does not move by design. 
If an item in trash is required, the item will need to be undeleted from the trash prior to the move.

Additional Information

When moving a user from one post office to another, the trash will appear to have been lost. This is working as designed. When people do a recommended pre-move cleanup of their mailboxes, they tend to forget to clear their trash which means that they have not really cut down their mailbox size. Leaving the trash out of the move sequence is therefore more efficient.
Formerly known as TID# 10086581
 
With GW8.x the last 100 items in Trash are now moved.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.