Fields in "Advanced Options" are not retained

  • 7005245
  • 27-Jan-2010
  • 30-Apr-2012

Environment

Novell Client for Windows Vista 1.0
Novell Client 2 for Windows Vista/2008
Novell Client 2 for Windows Vista/2008 (IR1a)
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows

Situation

If a user first user clicks on the "Show Advanced Options" selection and completes the fields (Tree, Server, Context, etc.),
the information isn't retained after applying the changes. When the user returns to the Credential Provider's "Log on to Novell Network" page and type in their user information, they are prompted for the information once again.

Resolution

Working as designed.

This behavior is required due to the current Novell Client login profile handling. Which login profile(s) are valid for the current user changes based on which username is specified in the "Username" field. So, specifying other fields besides username, but then subsequently changing the "Username" field contents, causes the effective set of login profiles to be recalculated and loaded. The information previously entered is lost, because it was being entered in the login profile of a "different" user. This is non-intuitive because its not how XP/2003 behaved, but is how the Vista/2008 login profiles handling is designed.

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.