User not forced to log into a new browser window in Internet Explorer 6 & 7

  • 7004072
  • 31-Jul-2009
  • 29-Apr-2013

Situation

Internet Explorer 6  and Internet Explorer 7 share session values if a new browser window is opened using CTRL+n or using the File menu, and then New| Window. 

An Identity Manager User Application or Roles Based Provisioning Module user should login to the applications in any new browser window.
 
If a user who is logged into the Identity Manager User Application or Roles Based Provisioning Module and opens new browser window using CTRL+n or using the File menu, and then New| Window, the windows opens with the previous user showing as the logged in user.

Resolution

This is a known behavior with Internet Explorer 6 & 7 and not a problem with the Identity Manager User Application or Roles Based Provisioning Module applications.  Anytime a new Internet Explorer window is opened using the File menu and then New| Window", or CTRL+n, the new IE window will share any sessions with the one from which it is opened.