How to disable GroupWise client auto-update prompt after software update.

  • 3992080
  • 24-Jan-2008
  • 31-May-2012

Environment

Novell GroupWise 5.2
Novell GroupWise 5.5
Novell GroupWise 32-bit Client

Situation

Users are prompted to update.
How to disable GroupWise client auto-update prompt after software update.

Resolution

Users will have to choose 'No' when prompted to update. See KB 10007798 ( Auto Update Algorithm)

1. Edit SOFTWARE.INF file in \SOFTWARE\CLIENT directory.
2. "REM out" line with buildnumber--this will force the client to ignore the algorithm and disable all GroupWise client prompts to update their software after updating the software distribution directory;
3. Users need Read and File Scan rights to the Software distribution directory.

NOTE: Simply remove the REM" statement and all clients pointing to the software distribution directory will then again be prompted to install new client software.

Additional Information

Administrator had selected 'Force Auto-update in NetWare Administrator, Tools | System Operations | Software Directory Management | Update.

Formerly known as TID# 10007588

Feedback service temporarily unavailable. For content questions or problems, please contact Support.