The Inventory Sync Service removes the inventory information of
the workstations from the Inventory database if they have been
deleted from eDirectory. To do so, the Inventory Service Manager
will log in to eDirectory using it's Inventory Service object, to
browse the tree for the existence of workstation objects.
By default the Inventory Service object doesn't have any specific rights to browse the tree and as such it uses the inherited public browse rights. If the browse rights to Public are removed or if browse rights are filtered within the tree, the Inventory Service won't be able to search the tree and will remove the workstations from the Inventory Database.